England draw Spain and Croatia in UEFA Nations League


England were drawn against Spain and Croatia in League A of the UEFA Nations League, while the Republic of Ireland will play Wales in League B.

Elsewhere in League A, world champions Germany were drawn against France and the Netherlands in Group 1, Belgium were drawn against Switzerland and Iceland in Group 2 and Euro 2016 champions Portugal were drawn against Italy and Poland in Group 3.

In League B, the Republic of Ireland and Wales were drawn together, along with Denmark in Group 4.

Denmark defeated Ireland in the play-offs for the 2018 World Cup, after Martin O’Neill’s side finished second behind Serbia in a group which also contained Wales.

Wales and Republic of Ireland were also in the same 2018 World Cup qualifying group
Wales and Republic of Ireland were also in the same 2018 World Cup qualifying group

Northern Ireland were drawn with Austria and Bosnia & Herzegovina in Group 3.

Slovakia, Ukraine and Czech Republic make up Group 1 in League B, while Group 2 consists of Russia, Sweden and Turkey.

Scotland were drawn in the only group containing just three teams in League C, alongside Albania and Israel. The Scots, who are still without a new manager, were one of the top seeds in League C.

The competition’s format will see four leagues of A, B, C and D, split into four groups of three or four teams, which will replace the majority of friendlies.

The Nations League, which has promotion and relegation, is designed to allow teams to play against those who are similarly ranked and will offer some who do not qualify for Euro 2020 via the normal route a path to the play-offs.

The first round of matches for the 2018/2019 season will start in September.

Full League A draw:

Group 1: Germany, France, Netherlands

Group 2: Belgium, Switzerland, Iceland

Group 3: Portugal, Italy, Poland

Group 4: Spain, England, Croatia

Full League B draw:

Group 1: Slovakia, Ukraine, Czech Republic

Group 2: Russia, Sweden, Turkey

Group 3: Austria, Bosnia & Herzegovina, Northern Ireland

Group 4: Wales, Republic of Ireland, Denmark

Full League C draw:

Group 1: Scotland, Albania, Israel

Group 2: Hungary, Greece, Finland, Estonia

Group 3: Slovenia, Norway, Bulgaria, Cyprus

Group 4: Romania, Serbia, Montenegro, Lithuania

Full League D draw:

Group 1: Georgia, Latvia, Kazakhstan, Andorra

Group 2: Belarus, Luxembourg, Moldova, San Marino

Group 3: Azerbaijan, Faro Islands, Malta, Kosovo

Group 4: FYR Macedonia, Armenia, Lichtenstein, Gibraltar


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here