Thursday, June 20, 2024
HomeSportsBasketballOladipo headlines All-Star reserves selection

Oladipo headlines All-Star reserves selection

Nigerian-American guard Victor Oladipo of the Indiana Pacers has earned his first All-Star selection alongside fellow first-timers Bradley Beal of the Washington Wizards, Karl-Anthony Towns of the Minnesota Timberwolves, and Kristaps Porzingis of the New York Knicks.

The All-Star reserves were announced by the NBA in the early hours of Wednesday morning.

Reigning NBA MVP Russell Westbrook of the Oklahoma City Thunder lead the list of 14 players selected by the NBA’s head coaches as reserves for the 2018 NBA All-Star Game on Sunday, February 18 at Staples Center in Los Angeles.

Joining Westbrook as reserves in the Western Conference player pool are LaMarcus Aldridge of the San Antonio Spurs, Jimmy Butler and Towns of the Minnesota Timberwolves, Draymond Green and Klay Thompson of the Golden State Warriors and Damian Lillard of the Portland Trail Blazers.

With Green and Thompson earning spots alongside starters Stephen Curry and Kevin Durant, the Warriors are the first team to have a record-tying four All-Stars in consecutive years.

The Eastern Conference reserve pool, which includes Beal, Oladipo and Porzingis, also features Al Horford of the Boston Celtics, Kevin Love of the Cleveland Cavaliers, Kyle Lowry of the Toronto Raptors and John Wall of the Wizards.

The 67th NBA All-Star Game, featuring Team LeBron vs Team Stephen, will air on Kwesé Sports. The midseason classic will reach fans in more than 200 countries and territories in more than 40 languages.

Under the new All-Star Game format that replaces the traditional matchup between conferences, Golden State’s Stephen Curry and Cleveland’s LeBron James – the All-Star starter from each conference who received the most fan votes in his conference – will serve as team captains and draft the team rosters from the pool of players voted as starters and reserves.

All-Star team rosters will be unveiled on Friday, January 26 at 02:00 CAT.

Curry and James will select the team rosters without regard for conference affiliation. Each captain will choose 11 players to complete a 12-man roster.

The 2018 NBA All-Star Draft rules are as follows:

• The eight All-Star Game starters (aside from Curry and James) will be drafted in the first round.
• The 14 All-Star Game reserves will be drafted in the second round.
• As the top overall vote-getter among fans, James will have the first pick in the first round
(starters). Curry will have the first pick in the second round (reserves).
• The captains will alternate picks in each round until all players in that round have been selected.

The starters, announced last week, were selected by a combination of fans, current NBA players and a media panel. The East starter pool is James, Giannis Antetokounmpo (Milwaukee Bucks), DeMar DeRozan (Toronto), Joel Embiid (Philadelphia 76ers) and Kyrie Irving (Boston). The West starter pool is Curry, DeMarcus Cousins (New Orleans Pelicans), Anthony Davis (New Orleans), Kevin Durant (Golden State) and James Harden (Houston Rockets).

The 14 reserves were chosen by the NBA’s 30 head coaches. The coaches voted for seven players in their respective conferences – two guards, three frontcourt players and two additional players at either position group. They were not permitted to vote for players from their own team.

NBA commissioner Adam Silver will select the replacement for any player unable to participate in the All-Star Game, choosing a player from the same conference as the player who is being replaced. Silver’s selection would join the team that drafted the replaced player. If a replaced player is a starter, the head coach of that team will choose a new starter.

Team LeBron will be coached by the head coach from the Eastern Conference team with the best record through games played on Sunday, February 4 among the 14 teams with an eligible head coach. Boston’s Brad Stevens is ineligible because he coached in last year’s All-Star Game.

Team Stephen will be coached by the head coach from the Western Conference team with the best record through February 4 among the 14 teams with an eligible head coach. Golden State’s Steve Kerr is ineligible because he coached in last year’s game.

Also See:

Rogers’ five wishes for 2018

Rangers commence screening of players for Team B

Hamilton wins U.S. GP but made to wait for title

More Related Articles


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here
Captcha verification failed!
CAPTCHA user score failed. Please contact us!

5 Days Trending

We use cookies to ensure that we give you the best experience on our website.