Friday, September 22, 2023
HomeWorld NewsTigers tame Kiwis in final Tri-Series clash

Tigers tame Kiwis in final Tri-Series clash

Bangladesh chased down their target in 48.2 overs to record a five-wicket victory in the final match of the Tri-Series against New Zealand in Dublin on Wednesday.

icon cricketFull scorecard: Bangladesh v New Zealand

Earlier, Bangladesh’s bowlers fought back to restrict New Zealand to 270 for eight and give themselves a chance of claiming their first win over their opponents.

When the Black Caps were 208-3 in the 39th over they were on course for a total of 300, but the dismissal of the dangerous Corey Anderson triggered a collapse -– they lost three wickets for two runs in 11 balls -– and it needed Ross Taylor to hold the innings together.

The former captain finished 60 not out from 56 balls with just six fours, with wickets falling around him as New Zealand failed to build on a second-wicket stand of 133 between skipper Tom Latham and Neil Broom.

Luke Ronchi lasted only five balls after Bangladesh won the toss with Mustafizur Rahman breaching his defence in the second over.

Latham, on the back of his century against Ireland in their big victory on Sunday, picked up where he left off and found the boundary 11 times in his 92 ball-innings of 84.

Broom also posted a half century before sweeping Nasir Hossain to square leg on 63. He faced 76 balls and hit seven fours.

It was Shakib Al Hasan who started the collapse and Jimmy Neesham, Mitchell Santner and Colin Munro –- all big hitters –- followed in successive overs.

Matt Henry was also bowled by Rubel Hossain in the 48th over and Bangladesh had the momentum going into lunch.

A Bangladesh win would promote them above Sri Lanka into sixth place in the ODI rankings, four months before the cut-off date which decides the top eight for the next ICC World Cup.

BANGLADESH: Tamim Iqbal, Soumya Sarkar, Sabbir Rahman, Mushfiqur Rahim(w), Shakib Al Hasan, Mahmudullah, Mosaddek Hossain Saikat, Nasir Hossain, Mashrafe Mortaza (capt), Rubel Hossain, Mustafizur Rahman

NEW ZEALAND: Luke Ronchi (wk), Tom Latham (capt), Neil Broom, Ross Taylor, Corey Anderson, James Neesham, Colin Munro, Mitchell Santner, Matt Henry, Jeetan Patel, Hamish Bennett

More Related Articles

Sign up to receive awesome content in your inbox, every day in the morning.

Select Your Interest:

We don’t spam! Read our privacy policy for more info.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here
Captcha verification failed!
CAPTCHA user score failed. Please contact us!

5 Days Trending

We use cookies to ensure that we give you the best experience on our website.