Wednesday, May 29, 2024
HomeLifestyleCelebrity news2019 Independent Spirit Award nominations announced

2019 Independent Spirit Award nominations announced

gemma chan molly shannon

The Independent Spirit Award nominations are in — which means the 2019 awards season is officially a go!

On Friday, Nov. 16, 2018, Crazy Rich Asians star Gemma Chan was joined by former Saturday Night Live star Molly Shannon at the W Hotel in Los Angeles to reveal this year’s nominees via Facebook Live.

As Entertainment Tonight noted, while this award show honors the very best in indie filmmaking, its nominees and winners tend to point toward those of the upcoming Academy Awards. With We the Animals leading the pack with five nods, Eighth Grade and First Reformed followed closely behind with four noms each.

Check out the complete list of nominees below (via E! News), and be sure to tune into the event early next year to see if your faves win. The 34th annual Independent Spirit Awards will air live on IFC from a beachfront tent in Santa Monica, Calif. on Saturday, Feb. 23, 2018.

Best Female Lead

Glenn Close, The Wife

Toni Collette, Hereditary

Elsie Fisher, Eighth Grade

Regina Hall, Support the Girls

Helena Howard, Madeline’s Madeline

Carey Mulligan, Wildlife

Best Male Lead

John Cho, Searching

Daveed Diggs, Blindspotting

Ethan Hawke, First Reformed

Christian Malheiros, Socrates

Joaquin Phoenix, You Were Never Really There

Best First Feature


Sorry to Bother You

The Tale

We the Animals

Best Director

Debra Granik, Leave No Trace

Barry Jenkins, If Beale Street Could Talk

Tamara Jenkins, Private Life

Lynne Ramsay, You Were Never Really Here

Paul Schrader, First Reformed

Best Feature

Eighth Grade

First Reformed

If Beale Street Could Talk

Leave No Trace

You Were Never Really Here

Robert Altman Award


The Bonnie Award

Debra Granki

Tamara Jenkins

Karyn Kusama

The Producers Award

Jonathan Duffy and Kelly Williams

Gabrielle Nadig

Shrihari Sathe

The Someone to Watch Award

Alex Moratto, Socrates

Ioana Uricaru, Lemonade

Jeremiah Zager, We the Animals

The Truer Than Fiction Award

Alexandria Bombach, On Her Shoulders

Bing Liu, Minding the Gap

RaMell Ross, Hale County This Morning, This Evening

Best Supporting Female

Kayli Carter, Private Life

Tyne Daly, A Bread Factory

Regina King, If Beale Street Could Talk

Thomasin Harcourt McKenzie, Leave No Trace

Smith-Cameron, Nancy

Best Supporting Male

Raúl Castillo, We the Animals

Adam Driver, Blackkklansman

Richard E. Grant, Can You Ever Forgive Me

Josh Hamilton, Eighth Grade

John David Washington, Monsters and Men

Best Screenplay

Richard Glatzer (Writer/Story By), Rebecca Lenkiewicz & Wash Westmoreland, Colette

Nicole Holofcener & Jeff Whitty, Can You Ever Forgive Me?

Tamara Jenkins, Private Life

Boots Riley, Sorry to Bother You

Paul Schrader, First Reformed

Best First Screenplay

Bo Burnham, Eighth Grade

Christina Choe, Nancy

Cory Finley, Thoroughbreds

Jennifer Fox, The Tale

Quinn Shephard (Writer/Story By) and Laurie Shephard (Story By),Blame

Best Cinematography

Ashley Connor, Madeline’s Madeline

Diego Garcia, Wildlife B

Benjamin Loeb, Mandy

Sayombhu Mukdeeprom, Suspiria

Zak Mulligan, We the Animals

Best Editing

Joe Bini, You Were Never Really There

Keiko Deguchi, Brian A. Kates & Jeremiah Zagar, We the Animals

Luke Dunkley, Nick Fenton, Chris Gill & Julian Hart, American Animals

Anne Fabini, Alex Hall and Gary Levy, The Tale

Nick Houy, Mid90s

Best International Film

Burning (South Korea)

The Favourite (United Kingdom)

Happy as Lazzaro (Italy)

Roma (Mexico)

Shoplifters (Japan)

Best Documentary

Hale Country This Morning, This Evening

Minding the Gap

Of Fathers and Sons

On Her Shoulders


Won’t You Be My Neighbor?

John Cassavetes Award

A Bread Factory

En El Septimo Dia

Never Going Back


Thunder Road

More Related Articles


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here
Captcha verification failed!
CAPTCHA user score failed. Please contact us!

5 Days Trending

We use cookies to ensure that we give you the best experience on our website.