Wednesday, May 31, 2023
HomeWorld NewsHamilton on pole for Azerbaijan GP

Hamilton on pole for Azerbaijan GP

Lewis Hamilton snatched pole position for Sunday’s Azerbaijan Grand Prix after eclipsing Mercedes teammate Valtteri Bottas with a phenomenal final qualifying lap on Saturday.

The three-time world champion starts ahead of Bottas with Ferrari duo Kimi Raikkonen and Sebastian Vettel, the championship leader, occupying the second row of the grid.

Hamilton claimed the 66th pole of his career, pulling clear of Brazilian great Ayrton Senna and leaving the Briton just two shy of Michael Schumacher’s record of 68.

His quickest lap of 1min 40.593sec came in the final seconds of the session following a red-flagged stoppage which turned the finale into a 3min 30sec showdown.

The 32-year-old bounced back from a frustrating practice outing on Friday to clinch his fifth pole in eight races this season as Mercedes locked out the front row.

Hamilton, who was quickest around the Baku street circuit by half a second, could match Schumacher’s mark at next month’s British Grand Prix if he can also take pole in Austria in a fortnight.

“That was one of the most exciting laps I have had all year,” said an ecstatic Hamilton. “A lot of pressure as we’ve been struggling with getting temperature into the tyres – I was just praying it was enough.

“I am so pumped – that’s how qualifying should be. It is going to be a long hard race, but it’s the best place to start.”

Bottas, who had been fastest in Q3 until Hamilton’s stunning final lap, admitted he was disappointed.

“The lap, in the end, wasn’t quite perfect, I was struggling the front left temperature and Lewis then did his lap! It’s disappointing, but second place is not bad.”

Hamilton is 12 points behind Vettel in the championship after seven races.

Max Verstappen was fifth for Red Bull ahead of the two Force Indias of Sergio Perez and Esteban Ocon, Canadian teenager Lance Stroll who was eighth ahead of his Williams teammate Felipe Massa and Australian Daniel Ricciardo, who crashed his Red Bull to engage the red flag and create the final drama.


The session began in steamy heat in the late afternoon with shadows stretching to ensure cooler patches on a track that was measured at 50 degrees Celsius as the action started. The air temperature was 28 degrees.

Jolyon Palmer was unable to take part after his Renault caught fire due to a fuel leak during the morning final practice, but approached the stewards for permission to take part in Sunday’s race.

He is likely to start from the back of the grid, or the pit lane, where he will be accompanied by the two McLarens of Fernando Alonso and Stoffel Vandoorne, the pair having accumulated 75 penalty points for replacement parts for their Honda engines.

Alonso was handed 40 places and his teammate 35, problems that were a long way from Hamilton’s mind as he set the pace with his best lap of the weekend in 1:42.384 in the early stages of Q1, trimming that to 1:41.983.

The luckless Alonso failed to make the cut to Q2 for the first time this season, and he was eliminated along with Romain Grosjean of Haas, Marcus Ericsson of Sauber and Vandoorne.

Ericsson’s teammate Pascal Wehrlein squeezed through to Q2, outpacing Alonso by 0.017 seconds, a bold effort by the Sauber man.

The two Mercedes men were soon quickest again in Q2, clear confirmation that Hamilton and Mercedes had found an overnight transformation in their car.

Bottas topped the first runs in Q3 ahead of Hamilton, who made an error in the final sector, with Verstappen third, but the Briton saved his best for last to deny the Finn.


1. Lewis Hamilton (Britain) Mercedes 1:40.593
2. Valtteri Bottas (Finland) Mercedes 1:41.027
3. Kimi Raikkonen (Finland) Ferrari 1:41.693
4. Sebastian Vettel (Germany) Ferrari 1:41.841
5. Max Verstappen (Netherlands) Red Bull – TAG Heuer 1:41.879
6. Sergio Perez (Mexico) Force India – Mercedes 1:42.111
7. Esteban Ocon (France) Force India – Mercedes 1:42.186
8. Lance Stroll (Canada) Williams-Mercedes 1:42.753
9. Felipe Massa (Brazil) Williams-Mercedes 1:42.798
10. Daniel Ricciardo (Australia) Red Bull – TAG Heuer 1:43.414
– – – – – – – – – –
11. Daniil Kvyat (Russia) Toro Rosso – Renault 1:43.186
12. Carlos Sainz Jr (Spain) Toro Rosso – Renault 1:43.347
13. Kevin Magnussen (Denmark) Haas – Ferrari 1:43.796
14. Nico Huelkenberg (Germany) Renault 1:44.267
15. Pascal Wehrlein (Germany) Sauber – Ferrari 1:44.603
– – – – – – – – – –
16. Fernando Alonso (Spain) McLaren 1:44.334
17. Romain Grosjean (France) Haas – Ferrari 1:44.468
18. Marcus Ericsson (Sweden) Sauber – Ferrari 1:44.795
19. Stoffel Vandoorne (Belgium) McLaren 1:45.030
20. Jolyon Palmer (Britain) Renault
– – – – – – – – – –
1-10: third and final qualifying session
11-15: second qualifying session
16-20: first qualifying session

STARTING GRID (after grid penalties enforced)

1. Lewis Hamilton (Britain) Mercedes
2. Valtteri Bottas (Finland) Mercedes
3. Kimi Raikkonen (Finland) Ferrari
4. Sebastian Vettel (Germany) Ferrari
5. Max Verstappen (Netherlands) Red Bull – TAG Heuer
6. Sergio Perez (Mexico) Force India – Mercedes
7. Esteban Ocon (France) Force India – Mercedes
8. Lance Stroll (Canada) Williams-Mercedes
9. Felipe Massa (Brazil) Williams-Mercedes
10. Daniel Ricciardo (Australia) Red Bull – TAG Heuer
11. Daniil Kvyat (Russia) Toro Rosso – Renault
12. Kevin Magnussen (Denmark) Haas – Ferrari
13. Nico Huelkenberg (Germany) Renault
14. Pascal Wehrlein (Germany) Sauber – Ferrari
15. Carlos Sainz Jr (Spain) Toro Rosso – Renault
16. Romain Grosjean (France) Haas – Ferrari
17. Marcus Ericsson (Sweden) Sauber – Ferrari
18. Jolyon Palmer (Britain) Renault (could start from pitlane)
19. Fernando Alonso (Spain) McLaren
20. Stoffel Vandoorne (Belgium) McLaren

More Related Articles

Sign up to receive awesome content in your inbox, every day in the morning.

Select Your Interest:

We don’t spam! Read our privacy policy for more info.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here
Captcha verification failed!
CAPTCHA user score failed. Please contact us!

5 Days Trending

We use cookies to ensure that we give you the best experience on our website.