Monday, May 20, 2024
HomeWorld NewsBottas holds off Vettel to win

Bottas holds off Vettel to win

Valtteri Bottas roared to the second victory of his career on Sunday when he won the Austrian Grand Prix for Mercedes ahead of championship leader Sebastian Vettel of Ferrari.

The Finn, in his first season with Mercedes after replacing 2016 champion Nico Rosberg, came home 0.658 seconds clear of Vettel who increased his lead ahead of Lewis Hamilton in the drivers championship to 20 points.

Hamilton, in the second Mercedes, did his utmost to grab a podium finish after starting from eighth on the grid, but had to settle for fourth behind Australian Daniel Ricciardo of Red Bull.

For Ricciardo, on his team’s ‘home’ Red Bull Ring circuit, it was a fifth consecutive podium finish and the 22nd of his career.

Vettel now leads the drivers championship with 171 points ahead of Hamilton on 151 and Bottas on 136, while in the constructors title race Mercedes lead with 287 ahead of Ferrari on 254.

This video is not available in your region

Kimi Raikkonen, the 2007 champion, came home fifth in the second Ferrari ahead of Romain Grosjean of Haas, the two Force Indias of Mexican Sergio Perez and Frenchman Esteban Ocon.

Felipe Massa and his Williams team-mate Canadian teenager Lance Stroll finished ninth and 10th after starting 17th and 18th on the grid.


1. Valtteri Bottas (Finland) Mercedes 1:21:48.527
2. Sebastian Vettel (Germany) Ferrari +00:00.658
3. Daniel Ricciardo (Australia) Red Bull – TAG Heuer 00:06.012
4. Lewis Hamilton (Britain) Mercedes 00:07.430
5. Kimi Raikkonen (Finland) Ferrari 00:20.370
6. Romain Grosjean (France) Haas – Ferrari 01:13.160
7. Sergio Perez (Mexico) Force India – Mercedes 1 lap
8. Esteban Ocon (France) Force India – Mercedes 1 lap
9. Felipe Massa (Brazil) Williams-Mercedes 1 lap
10. Lance Stroll (Canada) Williams-Mercedes 1 lap
11. Jolyon Palmer (Britain) Renault 1 lap
12. Stoffel Vandoorne (Belgium) McLaren 1 lap
13. Nico Huelkenberg (Germany) Renault 1 lap
14. Pascal Wehrlein (Germany) Sauber – Ferrari 1 lap
15. Marcus Ericsson (Sweden) Sauber – Ferrari 2 laps
16. Daniil Kvyat (Russia) Toro Rosso – Renault 3 laps
r. Carlos Sainz Jr (Spain) Toro Rosso – Renault 27 laps
r. Kevin Magnussen (Denmark) Haas – Ferrari 42 laps
r. Fernando Alonso (Spain) McLaren 70 laps
r. Max Verstappen (Netherlands) Red Bull – TAG Heuer 71 laps

(rank: r = retired, nc = not classified)
Fastest Lap: Lewis Hamilton,1:07.411, lap 69.

More Related Articles


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here
Captcha verification failed!
CAPTCHA user score failed. Please contact us!

5 Days Trending

We use cookies to ensure that we give you the best experience on our website.